Home Buzz Eighth installment of elections in Bengal today ... Polling for 35 seats...

Eighth installment of elections in Bengal today … Polling for 35 seats … All eyes are on the district … | Bengal Elections 2021: Voting for 35 seats in phase 8 begins at 7 am


oi-Srinivas Mittapalli


Published: Thursday, April 29, 2021, 1:44 [IST]

West Bengal will go to the polls on Thursday (April 29) for the final eighth installment of the Assembly elections. As part of this, polling will be held for 35 assembly seats in five districts of the state. Polling will be held from 7 a.m. to 6.30 p.m. A total of 283 candidates are in the fray for these seats … 84,77,728 voters will exercise their right to vote. This includes 43,55,835 female voters, 84,77,728 male voters and 158 third gender voters.

A total of 11,860 polling booths were set up for polling. In view of the violent incidents that have erupted in the past, more stringent security arrangements have been made for the last phase of polling.

Bengal Elections 2021: Voting for 35 seats in phase 8 begins at 7 am

Most of the focus is on the 11 assembly constituencies in Birbhum district where the elections are to be held. It has been branded as the most violent district in the state. The EC has already placed surveillance on the Birbhum TMC chief affiliate board. For 62 hours, the Central Security Forces will monitor his movements. Anubarta Mandal faced a similar situation during the 2016,2019 elections.

Anubarta Mandal is said to be the strongest leader in Birbhum district. He is close to Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee. Despite many controversies, allegations and murder cases, he continues to be close to Mamata Banerjee. He has been in politics for three decades and has not contested any elections so far.

If you look at the last track record … In 2016, TMC won 11 out of 11 assembly seats in Birbhum district. The TMC hopes to regain sitting seats in the latest elections.

It is learned that Assembly elections are being held in 8 tranches for a total of 294 Assembly seats in West Bengal. Elections began on March 27 and ended on April 29. The results will be released on May 2. While the BJP wants the flag to fly on Bengal soil this time anyway … the TMC hopes to retain power once again. The Congress and the Left parties are contesting the elections as a coalition.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Guys worked very hard: Ravi Shastri

Head coach Ravi Shastri lauded Team India for topping the latest ICC Test team rankings released recently. He praised Team India for their...

Salman Khan to be discredited .. boycott Radhe is trending on Twitter!

Salman Khan is one of the highest marketed heroes in the Bollywood industry. Bhai, who receives minimum box office hits as a commercial,...

Will the captaincy leave if he wins the Ashes series: Tim Pine

Team Test captain Tim Paine has said he will step down as captain if Australia wins the Ashes series against England later this...

Balakrishna wishes Eid through video

Friday is Ramadan. On this occasion, Nandamuri Balakrishna conveyed Ramadan greetings to Muslims through a special video. '' Happy Ramadan to...

Recent Comments

Close Bitnami banner